The Maenads Sing

Dionysos

The Maenads sing

Now Dionysos is upon me
And out of my hands stream
Vines and lilies. My breath
Is hot, my limbs move free,
Easy among close bodies,
I am surrounded.
The cosmos is foliated
And fleshed, open and free,
And Dionysos is on me.

Now my breath is bated,
There is a dangerous glee
And the air has hyperventilated,
The whole scene is pulsating
With thunderbolt energy,
Vines, lilies, and death,
And Dionysos is upon me.
The cosmos is foliated
And I am surrounded.

Leave a Reply

