A problem solved after 20-odd years

My friend Duncan Miller sold this stone to me about twenty years ago. It’s a moonstone, although it looks more like an ocean-stone, with flashes of light that move across it like moonlight on the sea. He insisted that the stone was right for me, although I could think of no setting for it. The stone has languished in various drawers, and endured a move of workshop, during that time, and occasionally I have taken it out and looked at it. Once, about 10 years ago, I created a sort of fringed frame for it, but that didn’t satisfy me, and I never went further.

Recently, investigating images surrounding the Orpheus myth, I have been drawn to images from the Renaissance.  I was attracted to ship images, like the one found on the crest of the City of Paris, and suddenly I remembered the moonstone.

Crest of the City of Paris

I’m very pleased with the pendant that resulted. It has no relevance to the Orpheus myth – except perhaps as a reference to Jason’s Argo. Orpheus was a crew-member on that quest, and he would calm the testosterone-drenched Heroes down with the music of his lyre when they fought among themselves.

ARGO: Pendant; silver, moonstone

ARGO: Pendant; silver, moonstone

It’s about this size:

ARGO: Pendant; silver, moonstone

ARGO: Pendant; silver, moonstone

Leave a Reply

