Elegant Low-Cost Packaging for Jewellery

Every year I show my work in an at-home exhibition. I’ve been doing it for more than two decades. Every year I make packaging for the items I sell. I’ve been making variations these packets for many years. I thought I’d share the method, since it’s not copyrighted and I am sure many small-scale jewellers can benefit from this idea. When I was an apprentice in the early 1970s I was used as a delivery boy, and one of the highs of this experience was fetching stones from Mr Lutzno the diamond dealer. He would always show and count the stones before handing over a parcel. The moment when the diamonds were revealed in their packet was a magic one. from https://i2.wp.com/www.idavid.be/media/catalog/category/file_3.jpg So that was the starting-point of my design – a desire to recreate that aha-moment of revelation. After several experiments, and refinements over years, I have come up with the following: I print a design onto A4 paper. I have chosen a stiff, off-white paper with a slight sheen that’s not evident in the pictures. i’ve used Word’s table function to set this up, with fine dotted lines defining a central rectangle that is 95mm x 125mm in size. I frame this central area – this will give the package a neat square look even if the folds are a tiny bit off square. In the middle of this I put my name and a picture of a piece of jewellery that I have rendered in B&W, high contrast. IMG_1547The next step is to paint the images with a dash of watercolor. This gives the packets the look of individual artworks, which they are. I line up ten at a time, and paint several at once. I spend about 30 seconds on each, using three brushes. This only works if you have used laser printing or non-water-soluable ink.IMG_1548 IMG_1549 IMG_1550The next thing is the packet liners. For this I have found that a deep blue tissue paper is the best – black is too austere, and pale colours don’t show silver well. I buy sheets of tissue paper and cut them into eight by folding and cutting with a sharp knife. This gives me a size that’s just a little smaller than A4. I glue the tissue paper to the printed and painted sheet with a glue-stick. 10 seconds each. I always end up thinking about Yves Klein at this stage. IMG_1538Now to fold the packets, carefully following the dotted lines, and making sure that they don’t appear on the front. About 20 seconds each if you’re being careful. IMG_1540 IMG_1541 IMG_1542 IMG_1544   The package opens and the jewel can be seen – ahhh! IMG_1553        I have done this hundreds of times and have developed a precise set of gestures which seem to work best.

1 comment
  1. Liz Linsell said:

    Thanks Mike, Love yer art-packaging!

Leave a Reply

