Medicine Buddha Pendant

I had some lapis lazuli and, since the Medicine Buddha, the Buddhist image of healing, is commonly imagined as lapis lazuli-coloured or even made of lapis lazuli, I thought I’d make an abstraction of his face for a pendant.

IMG_1252

Medicine Buddha Pendant: silver, jet, lapis lazuli

 

I started out making the hair out of obsidian but the material was too brittle and liable to chip.

IMG_1179

Work in progress. Lapis lazuli and obsidian.

So I found some jet (fossilised coal), and after a bit of fiddling about, was able to produce a form that satisfies me. The silver part was carved in wax and cast. I used epoxy mixed with jet dust for the seams.

Here’s the finished item, actual size:

IMG_1252

Medicine Buddha Pendant: silver, jet, lapis lazuli

medicine_buddha

Medicine Buddha

1 comment
  1. Jenny said:

    wow! i love it 😀

Leave a Reply

